My review of “Captain America: Winter Soldier” (2014)

13 Mar

I am a huge fan of these Marvel films. I have a very nerdy friend (yes, even nerdier than myself) who was a fan of the comics long before the movies. He too built The Winter Soldier up as superior to its predecessor and one of the better Marvel movies.
I dunno, for me, Captain America is fine when he is with the Avengers, but I’m not as big a fan of his solo stuff. Like Eric points out in his review, Cap is a flat character even by comic book standards. I think I would prefer Chris Evans to reprise his role as Johnny Storm aka The Human Torch. That would be something to see in an Avengers movie-The Human Torch hot dogging the skies alongside Iron Man!

Eric Robert Nolan, Author

[THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR THE FILM.]  Okay, now — this was actually a pretty good movie; I’d give it an 8 out of 10.

And that says a lot coming from me — I gave only a lukewarm response to “Captain America: The First Avenger,” because I thought that film was an overly safe family film that had no depth or suspense, and some awkward fight scenes.  I’ve also opined that Captain America is one of the flatter characters on The Avengers’ lineup.  And he’s got a simplistic character concept, even by comic book standards (super-soldier serum, anyone?).

But “Winter Soldier” does improve greatly on some various weaknesses of the origin story.  The action scenes (my favorite is the highway fight) are very, very good, with well choreographed brawls and suspenseful shootouts that aren’t too hard for the viewer to follow.  And the space opera-level climax will definitely give…

View original post 412 more words

Leave a Reply

