A review of “Spider-Man: Homecoming” (2017)

13 Jul

Eric,
I thoroughly enjoyed Homecoming, though I see your point. I just re-watched the 2002 Spider Man movie right after seeing Homecoming. I was worried that the new film would rival my favorite (my other comic book nerd friend told me that ‘nobody’ liked the Tobey Maguire movies-so I thought I was alone on that).

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Sam Raimi movies as much as I did. Still, Homecoming was much better than those The Amazing Spider Man films of only a few years back.

Thanks for sharing this great review!

Eric Robert Nolan, Author

“Spider-Man: Homecoming” (2017) isn’t a bad movie.  To the contrary, it’s a very good one — I would even rate it a 9 out of 10, if a little reluctantly.

The action, humor, surprises and special effects are all top-notch; it’s got a slew of fun Easter eggs and great continuity within the Marvel Cinematic Universe; and Michael Keaton hits it out of the park as the story’s villain.  (As Ed Harris did recently with HBO’s “Westworld,” the sublimely likable Keaton really surprised me with how he could become so intimidating.)  Furthermore, the screenwriters wisely omit another redundant re-telling of the web-slinger’s origin.  (Even a die-hard fan like me is sick of seeing or reading about it.)

I think your enjoyment of this movie might vary according to what you want Spider-Man to be.  This isn’t a movie in which Peter Parker or his alter ego stand out as his…

View original post 563 more words

Leave a Reply

